Faculty Council
Harry Rosenberg Distinguished Service Award


An endowment was established in 2016 by Dr. Sue Davis Pendell (4th Faculty Council Chair) in honor of Dr. Harry Rosenberg, the first elected chair of Faculty Council and a faculty member in the Department of History. Dr. Pendell, (Department of Speech Communications) is a strong supporter of shared faculty governance. Annually, one faculty member who has made significant contributions to Faculty Council will be recognized for the award. A monetary award and a special plaque will be presented to the award winner by the Chair of Faculty Council at a Faculty Council meeting during the Spring term.


2024 Recipient – William Sanford

William (Bill) Sanford


Chair of Committee on Scholarship, Research and Graduate Education; College of Natural Resources, Geosciences

William Sanford, chair of the Committee on Scholarship, Research and Graduation, is this year’s recipient of the Harry Rosenberg Award. Sanford has served as a member and chair of the Committee on Scholarship, Research and Graduate Education since 2005, and has served as a member of the Faculty Council Executive Committee since 2015. For his active participation and strong commitment to shared governance for almost 20 years, we are happy to present this award. In recognition of Sanford’s distinguished service to Colorado State University’s Faculty Council, Sanford will be presented a plaque and an honorarium.

Past Recipients

2023 – Steve Reising

Chair of Committee on Faculty Governance; College of Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering

2022 – Brad Goetz

Chair of University Curriculum Committee; College of Agricultural Sciences, Landscape Architecture & Urban Design

2021 – Sue Doe

Faculty Council Chair; College of Liberal Arts, English

2020 – Jenny Morse

Chair of Committee on Non-Tenure Track Faculty; College of Business, Management

2019 – David Greene

College of Health and Human Sciences, Occupational Therapy

2018 – Richard Eykholt

College of Natural Sciences, Physics

2017 – C.W. Miller

Former Faculty Council Chair, Vice Chair, BOG Representative; College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Biomedical Sciences

2016 – Carole Makela

College of Health and Human Sciences, School of Education

Application and Selection Process

The Vice Chair of Faculty Council will put out the call for nominations at the December Faculty Council Meeting, with a deadline in March. The selection committee will be comprised of the previous award winners who remain active at Colorado State University. As the size of this group grows, we anticipate restricting it to the previous eight award winners. This committee will make recommendations (no more than three) to the Executive Committee for final selection.


This award is intended to recognize a regular faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary contributions to and engagements with Faculty Council in any of a variety of capacities.  To be eligible, the faculty member must:

  • have been a voting member of Faculty Council for a minimum of three years,
  • have demonstrated outstanding service and commitment to the principles espoused by Faculty Council and its committees, and
  • be currently employed by the University.

Nomination Process

Nomination documents include the nomination form and reference letters, which must be electronically transmitted to the Executive Assistant of Faculty Council.